Stay Thirsty: a conversation with David McCallum


David McCallum became internationally famous in the 1960s for his role as the Russian secret agent Illya Kuryakin in the hit television series The Man From U.N.C.L.E. which also earned him two Emmy Award nominations. Born in Scotland to a family of classical musicians, his early years were filled with studying music, military service and working as a young actor in England. Late in life, he repeated his television success by taking on his current role as Medical Examiner Dr. Donald "Duck" Mallard on NCIS, the most popular television series in the world. And now, just a few months after his 82nd birthday, his first novel, Once A Crooked Man, is being released. It was Stay Thirsty Magazine's great pleasure and genuine privilege to visit with David McCallum at his home in California for this Conversation.

STAY THIRSTY: Your debut novel, Once A Crooked Man, has been praised as a comic thriller in the vein of Elmore Leonard and Lawrence Block. What motivated you to write a novel at this time in your life?

DAVID MCCALLUM: Many years ago while reading a Jack Higgins book on audiotape, I had the idea that I too could write. So I came up with the idea of an actor being handed $1,000,000 in a suitcase and began putting the words on the page. My first efforts were pathetic. These pages then went through several iterations and in and out of drawers until three years ago when I finally had the time and inclination to finish it. I was never motivated to write a novel.

STAY THIRSTY: Your military service also included time in the Middlesex Regiment and now, with your wife Katherine, you are active with organizations that support the United States Marine Corps. How did your military service help you prepare for your roles in The Man From U.N.C.L.E. and NCIS? Has it come into play in your work as a novelist?

DAVID MCCALLUM: Back in the fifties, I was commissioned into the British Army and went immediately to C Company of the 3rd Battalion, Gold Coast Regiment which was part of the Royal West African Frontier Force. My military experience stood me in good stead parts in The Great Escape, Mosquito Squadron and theColditz series on the BBC.



Much more about UNCLE:
Amazon.com - http://goo.gl/OD1XKW
Amazon Australia - http://goo.gl/ODQYPY
Amazon Brazil - http://goo.gl/qYPYg6
Amazon Canada - http://goo.gl/XrC6gc
Amazon France - http://goo.gl/IGxkLq
Amazon Germany - http://goo.gl/Wtz6WB
Amazon India - http://goo.gl/vtNMYo
Amazon Italy - http://goo.gl/gPOn6X
Amazon Japan - http://goo.gl/Cwqw1s
Amazon Mexico - http://goo.gl/xY6ANr
Amazon Netherlands - http://goo.gl/y1t4KO
Amazon Spain - http://goo.gl/ph9s0Z
Amazon UK - http://goo.gl/RDkUxB

Comments

Popular Posts